Week Five – Settling In

This week has been quite boring food-wise.

I have been making a few soups each week and rummaging through the fridge I found some apples and parsnips. “Hmm,” I thought, “I haven’t heard of an apple and parsnip soup but I bet it would be nice.” So I devised a recipe.

500g of parsnips, peeled and chopped
3 sticks celery (but no carrots!), chopped
2 eating apples, cored and chopped
Thumb sized piece of ginger, chopped
1 small red chilli
1 litre Stock

Sauté the parsnips and celery until soft then add the rest of the ingredients. Bring to the boil, simmer and then blend.

It is perhaps a sign of how startlingly unoriginal I am that I discovered after I had made it that there are hundreds of apple and parsnip soup recipes out there. There is one more now.

My nephew was staying with us on Saturday and at about 10am, after enduring far more CeeBeebies than anyone with grown children should have to, I managed to distract him with a milkshake. While he wasn’t looking I changed channel and found myself watching Saturday Kitchen for the first time in ages. I am not really a fan of the programme but I spotted that the chef of my favourite restaurant and the writer of my favourite cookery book, Jose Pizzaro, was appearing.

Jose cooked Iberico Pork Chop with asparagus, piquillo peppers and potatoes with chorizo. I am avoiding pork chops on this diet but I tried the asparagus with peppers and the whole was far greater than the sum of its parts.

Overall we had a week with very little opportunity to be tempted and I was quite pleased to have lost three pounds at the weigh-in.

This week I am planning to make a chilli. For the last few years I have used Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s recipe from The River Cottage Meat Book but it is a little diet unfriendly. I have a beef cheek sitting in the freezer and, with the aid of lots of carrots and celery and maybe some cooking chorizo, I shall be trying to come up with a new recipe. If it works I will post it next week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week Five – Settling In

  1. Pingback: Week Six – Chilli | Fat Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

