Week Seven – NFN

The week was fairly uninteresting food wise: a risotto, a stir fry and a shepherd’s pie were nice but nothing new.

The two interesting things were both pasta dishes.

First I made a summer salmon pasta dish which was very tasty and very quick:

1 Onion, diced
3 Garlic cloves, sliced
1 splash of olive oil, probably 2 tbl spoon
2 salmon fillets
Pasta shapes (I used penne)
Frozen peas
Pea Tops to garnish

Gently fry the onion and garlic in the olive oil until soft. Add the pasta to a pan of boiling water and about six minutes from the end add the salmon fillets. Just before the pasta is cooked remove the salmon fillets and flake into to the onion and garlic mix. Add the peas to the pasta pan. Drain the pasta and peas and add to the onion, garlic and salmon. Stir through and serve topped with the pea tops.

Secondly, horror of horrors, I let my brother in law into my kitchen to cook. I even managed to avoid standing over him to make sure he wasn’t mistreating my knives or being nasty to my pans. He made a linguine carbonara. I used to make carbonara with crème fraiche and mascarpone. It was very rich, very bad and, really, wasn’t carbonara. Jason’s was the real deal; light and tasty. But this is my blog so, until I try cooking it myself, I am not writing the recipe!

On Saturday we visited our friends who cooked us a huge plate of curry from The Asian Cookshop. It was delicious and very hard to say no to second helpings… so I didn’t.

On Sunday we visited my mum in Norfolk. We usually eat out when we visit as it means we get to see more of each other if one of us isn’t cooking. There is something about rural restaurants in Norfolk: the cooking is usually very good but the style seems to be stuck in the seventies. Twice at different restaurants I have ordered the fish stew expecting something like Mitch Tonks excellent dish only to be served something in a creamy sauce. As a starter this time I ordered the “Cromer crab pancake” imagining a cold crepe with dressed crab and maybe a little salad and instead got a hot (as in lava hot) filled pancake smothered in bechemel and cheese. Once it had cooled down enough to eat it was tasty but it could have been so much fresher. Doctors use the abbreviation “NFN” on patient’s notes meaning Normal for Norfolk. Maybe this fixation for mixing dairy and seafood is something NFN.

Despite the cream and other excesses of the weekend I managed to lose two pounds at the weigh in. Even better after gaining a pound last week Debbie lost three so I don’t have to feel guilty about my weight loss this week 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

