Weeks Thirteen and Fourteen – Holiday Souvenirs

Ok, I’ll get the bad stuff out of the way early. I had a lovely holiday but I didn’t keep to the diet and drank far too much so I managed to gain six pounds. Although I have all my weekends booked up as far as the eye can see I am not overly worried about losing the weight now I am back home and settling back into routine.

As well as the six pounds I also picked up an idea for a recipe whilst we were away.

In Annecy we ate at The Chalet Restaurant where I had a rather nice, if a little small, fish dish. Rather than her usual steak Debbie ordered Penne with courgette, garlic and lemon. It wasn’t much too look at but it was tasty, light and summery.

I had a think about it on the drive home and this is my version of it. It still isn’t much to look at so I didn’t ask Debbie to photograph it.

Pasta with courgette, garlic and lemon.

This recipe will serve three to four normal people but is free on a green day so you could, apparently, eat as much as you want.

500g Pasta
2 tbls Olive Oil
3 Courgettes, sliced
1 bulb garlic, peeled
2 lemons, juice only
Milk (enough to cover the garlic in a small pan)

According to some bald bloke trying to sell stuff the way to make the garlic soft and sweet is to slice then in half length ways, remove the green germ and simmer them in milk and water. It does work but it also means that you lose a lot of the flavour, hence the whole bulb used here (next time I might roast the garlic and reduce the amount by half). Once cooked blend with the lemon juice and a pinch of salt and then drizzle in one tablespoon of the oil. You should have a slightly glossy white (or cream coloured if you roasted the garlic) sauce.

While the water is boiling for your pasta toss the sliced courgettes in one tablespoon of the oil and griddle or fry until cooked.

Once the pasta is cooked drain it and add the garlic and lemon sauce. Stir vigourously to coat all the pasta and then stir through the cooked courgettes. Serve immediately.

I am back swimming this week and properly back on the diet so hopefully next week I will have lost the weight I gained.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weeks Thirteen and Fourteen – Holiday Souvenirs

  1. almagill says:

    Glad the holiday went well 🙂

    You’ll drop that weight in no time tho. ‘specially if you are back to swimming.

Leave a Reply

