Week Nineteen – Fat is a [insert cause here] Issue

Last week I was reading a counter to the accusation that Lib Dems have a civil liberties fetish when I read the following on the word “fetish”:

Make no mistake – and if you’ve spent any time in the fat acceptance movement, you won’t – “fetish” is just another way of saying “a sexual interest the majority doesn’t like”. You only get turned on by thin women? Congratulations, you’re normal. That’s fine, perfectly healthy. (You’re male, right? If you aren’t male, it might not be so fine, to the majority way of thinking.) But what’s that you say – actually, you only get turned on by fat women? Oh dear, that’s a fetish. It’s not healthy at all. In fact, it’s creepy. You’re not really interested in them for themselves. You’re objectifying them. You need therapy. You’re sick

I was not, until recently, aware of the existence of a fat acceptance movement and even if I had been I am not sure I would have supported it. There are people out there who have medical reasons for being overweight but the majority of us could lose weight if we wanted to. Myself and others I know have been jeered at in the street because of our size but I believe that calling anybody names is just a sign of a nasty individual. I can diet but there is little they can do to change their nastiness and they would as soon insult me for my big nose or baldness if my being fat wasn’t such an obvious hook. Whilst campaigning against nastiness is a laudable thing I worry that encouraging people to accept their fatness is akin to telling smokers they are an oppressed minority who should stand up for their rights and smoke themselves to death to prove the point.

I do not like eating in public because I assume that everybody who sees me will think I am stuffing my face even if I have not eaten that day (oddly I never feel bad about drinking in public!). I tend to put this aside when I visit restaurants hoping that I will be given a little unobtrusive corner. At the weekend we went to Polpetto, a wonderful if tiny restaurant in Soho. We were given a corner table and ate some of the best food I have tasted (I think it is now my favourite restaurant) but getting though the narrow gaps between the tables was a little bit of a trial, made more difficult by having shared a bottle of their excellent prosecco. It reminded me of why I want to do this diet: I want to be able to fit into society whether that means buying clothes on the High Street or not knocking into people as I squeeze past their table.

After what amounted two weeks off the diet whilst we celebrated our birthdays I was rather shocked that I had lost a pound at this week’s weigh in. I think it was entirely due to the soup I had for lunch.

Roasted Garlic Soup
This is a lovely soup that, because the garlic is roasted, takes on a nutty flavour and (I am told by the people I kept apologising for breathing on) doesn’t make your breath smell too bad.
3 bulbs Garlic (the fresh green stuff is best but if you can’t get it the normal ones will do although if you are using the pathetic specimens that usually pass for garlic at supermarkets you may need four or five bulbs)
1 medium potato diced
1 litre vegetable stock

Roast the garlic at about 140 degrees for forty five minutes until the cloves are brown and squishy. If the oven is too hot there is a risk that the garlic will froth up leaving you with what looks like a used roman candle rather than a parcel of soft brown cloves. Put the potato and stock in a pan. There are two ways to do this now: either squeeze each clove into the stock or put the whole bulbs in. If you squeeze you will then be able to liquidize the soup rather than pass it through a sieve however your fingers will require a fair amount of scrubbing to get rid of the smell. Bring to the boil and simmer until the potato is cooked then either sieve or liquidize. Season to taste.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Week Nineteen – Fat is a [insert cause here] Issue

  1. You think that’s a big nose? Ha. I sneer at your so-called “big” nose.

  2. Niall says:

    I agree that fattism is an issue that should be stamped out……and at our combined weight, who better to stamp it out? 😉 We’ll start by removing the weightist graffitti in lifts……let’s have no more of this “Maximum load 840kgs / 15 persons” 🙂

  3. Anya says:

    I understand your point about comparing fat people accepting their weight to smokers – but I think that the people out there who are fat and proud are few and far between.

    As we both know, dieting is not easy, especially if you are not in the state of mind to actually diet. For the past couple of years my mind has not been on dieting – but that doesn’t mean I am happy about my weight, it just means I was comfortable being fat for the time being, and my own acceptance of my weight helped me ignore the nastiness surrounded by being fat. If you cannot accept who you are (whether that be something you can change, or not) you are more at risk of letting this nastiness take over your life, leading to low self esteem and other issues.

    Bullying will not make anyone be successful at dieting, you have to want to diet for yourself and your own reasons, not because someone called you fatty bum bum.

    I don’t think it is unhealthy to accept that you are fat, it is only unhealthy when you don’t ever plan on doing anything about it.

  4. Almagill says:

    Nice article, yup.

    Now, the recipe… three BULBS??
    Oh jiminy crickets this is going to be fun 🙂

  5. Will. S. says:

    Isn’t teasing and name-calling irrelivant since we are all meant to be ‘jolly’?

    I think the problem stems from a need to label anything and everything. If people didn’t give a shit about the title of the pigeon-hole they occupied, the world would be a happier place.

    Sounds like a lovely soup, will have to give it a go.

  6. Almagill says:

    Will 🙂

    I’m so jolly that I’ll happily rip the arms off anyone that ‘teases’ me in anything but the very very best humour.

    Then obviously I’ll eat said arms, nice hiney glaze, bit of mustard.. NOM.

    😉

    Oh, and for anyone else who cooks on gas…
    http://www.hintsandthings.co.uk/kitchen/oventemp.htm

    140C is about Gas Mark 1.

  7. Pingback: Week Twenty Two – Service | Fat Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

