Weeks Thirty Six and Seven – Celebrations

We decided before the Christmas holidays began that we would not be following the diet over the festivities. We kidded ourselves that it was because we were visiting friends and family and it would be unfair to expect them to cater to the diet but basically it was because we wanted to eat and drink whatever we desired.

And eat and drink whatever we desired we did.

Our wedding anniversary is just before Christmas and this year we went for a meal at Pearl. We both love it there but I think going when I had a cold may have been a mistake as I didn’t really appreciate the flavours.

Luckily by the time I arrived in Eccles a few days later I was in a better position to appreciate Salford’s best Chinese restaurant. And the fish and chips I treated myself to the next day.

As we spent a lot of time driving between friends and relatives I didn’t drink as much as I would have if we had stayed at home but the pressure of all those sweet and savoury treats meant that the pair of slightly too small trousers I bought on Christmas Eve with a view to shrinking into became a a pair of painfully small trousers.

In the break before New Year’s Eve we ventured into London and finally went to Bob Bob Ricard. It was here, while Debbie played with the “press for champagne” button, that I had the best drink I have had in a long time; the Pink Rhubarb Gin and Tonic. It is baby pink and served in a small martini glass and is, to coin a phrase, a very girlie drink but it is delicious. Until I saw the trio of crème brulee on the desert menu I seriously considered having an extra one as dessert.

The New Year was welcomed in with a bottle of bubbly and a hot Bray’s Cottage pork pie which was a thing of wonder.

All of which indulgence meant that I was not shocked to find I had put on half a stone at tonight’s weigh in. In my defence I would point out that it was over three weeks. What did shock me was that Debbie only gained two and a half pounds. I thought she was matching me in naughtiness but I think she must have been dieting when I wasn’t looking

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weeks Thirty Six and Seven – Celebrations

  1. Rolling Film Reviews says:

    Good post.

    The curse of the pink drink….similar happened to me when I ordered a Mojito at Bem Brasil and the bartender slipped some pink grapefruit juice into it and arrived asking ‘Which of you lovely ladies ordered the Pink Mojito?’ – His face was not impressed to see my hairy arm rise up in gratitude of my braw order.

Leave a Reply

