Week Fifty One – Memory Hole

Debbie got on the scales first at this week’s weigh in and had gained half a pound. As she had spent Saturday at my daughter’s hen party I thought half a pound was a fair result. I was feeling slightly smug as I got on the scales. I had been good all week and had been swimming and I had visions of being handed the slimmer of the week sticker.

I gained three pounds.

Three pounds. But I had been good, I distinctly remember being good.

Oh, apart from the trip to an Indian restaurant on Thursday night after Debbie arrived home after our kitchen was closed (I don’t do cooking after seven pm). Oh, and then we were in Manchester and, well, it was a lot easier to have a take away so I might have been persuaded to order a thing called a kebab calzone. This turned out to be one of those elephant’s foot things you see in kebab shop windows sliced up and forced into a folded pizza.

As the women were all off enjoying themselves on the hen do us men were left to entertain ourselves. This seemed to mostly involve drinking pints of bitter. I admit to being a Southern Softie and only managed six pints before switching to a soft drink.

And then I remembered that on Wednesday last week I made this:

Mac and Cheese
This is not a diet friendly recipe but sometimes you just have do things.
Serves four
500ml Skimmed Milk
1 onion, diced and fried until golden (for some reason I had quite a few of these last week)
2 Bayleaves
500g Macaroni
1tsp butter
1tbl plain flour
200g Fontina cheese, grated
200g Mozzarella, grated
150g Parmesan, grated
1tbl Bread Crumbs

Put the onions and bayleaves with the milk in a pan and bring to the boil. Allow to cool then strain. Add the cooled milk to the macaroni and leave to soak over night.

The next day preheat the oven to 200°c. Drain the macaroni reserving the milk. Melt the butter and then make a roux with the flour. Add the milk a little at a time to make a bechamel. Once the sauce is thick add the fontina, mozzarella and all by a tablespoon of the parmesan. When the cheese has melted into the sauce stir in the pasta then pour into an ovenproof dish. Mix the remaining parmesan with the breadcrumbs and sprinkle over the top. Put in the oven for between twenty to thirty minutes until the top is browned.

So actually a three pound gain was a good result.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week Fifty One – Memory Hole

  1. Debbie says:

    Actually you close the kitchen at around ten to six. Not home straight away a take away turns up about 40 minutes later!

  2. How Did I Get Here? says:

    I think there is a bit missing in your summary of what transpired over the weekend….I remember distinctly being sat next to you in Bem Brasil.

    The Mac & Cheese sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

